Providing infinite opportunities


The governance arrangements for Horizons Specialist Academy Trust, as detailed in the Articles of Association, are set out below:


Horizons Specialist Academy Trust has five Members:

Dame Dela Smith

Martin Clinton

Maurice Jones

Ian Cunningham

Brenda Kirby

As charitable companies limited by guarantee every Trust has Members who have a similar role to the shareholders of a company limited by shares. They:

  • oversee the achievement of the Company's objects (as detailed in the Committees section),
  • are the subscribers to the Memorandum and Articles of Association (where they are founding Members)
  • may amend the articles of association (the articles include a definition of the trust’s charitable objects and governance structure) subject to any restrictions in the articles or in the trust’s funding agreement or charity law
  • have powers to appoint and remove Directors in certain circumstances
  • receive the Trust's Annual Accounts (subject to the Companies Act). 

Board of Directors

Directors manage the academies on behalf of the Trust, through undertaking the core functions as detailed in the  The Governance Handbook  - ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils and the performance management of staff; and overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.  Directors also need to ensure that the Trust complies with charity and company law and operates within the Funding Agreement that has been signed with the Secretary of State.

The Articles of Association state that the Board of Directors shall have the following directors:

  • Chief Executive
  • Up to 6 Directors appointed by Members
  • A minimum of 2 Directors appointed by parents

There is also the facility for the Board of Directors to appoint Co-opted Directors.


The Trust is seeking to appoint a non-executive Trustee/Director to the Board of Directors.  The skill base of the Broad is extremely strong and we are looking to appoint an individual who is working at a strategic level in business, with key responsibilities for business direction and performance across a large and/or complex organisation.  Skills, knowledge and experience of legal or compliance, HR and corporate governance are advantageous, though not essential.  An interest in the area of Special Educational Needs(SEN) and an understanding of SEN legislation would be advantageous.

Please contact the Trust's Governance Operations Manager, Alison Ascough (01642 677113) for further information. 

The current membership of the Board of Directors, along with Directors' terms of office, are detailed below.  Further information on the Board's Committees and the Academy Councils is accessible via the links.


Elizabeth HorneElizabeth Horne CBE

Term of office: Ex officio


Helen DysonHelen Dyson

Term of office: 2 March 2015 - 1 March 2019 


Maurice JonesMaurice Jones

Chair of the Board of Directors

Term of office: 12 July 2017 - 11 July 2021

Colin WhittakerColin Whittaker

Term of office: 12 July 2017 - 11 July 2021

Linda LaidlerLinda Laidler

Vice Chair of the Board of Directors

Term of office: 12 July 2017 - 11 July 2021

Dr Baxi SinhaDr Baxi Sinha

Term of office: 16 December 2018 - 15 December 2022

James BromileyJames Bromiley

Term of office: 1 September 2016 - 31 August 2020

Sue Richardson 

Term of office: 8 December 2016 - 7 December 2020


Sian Wilson

Term of office: 30 April 2018 - 29 April 2022